Disconnect To Reconnect

Sometimes we just need a little bit of time…

Lately I’ve been needing a lot. Time stresses me out. I never feel like I have enough. Being someone who relishes in her time alone, having too many commitments or engagements keeps my anxiety levels high.

I will admit – I admire people who have a jam packed schedule and can bounce from one to the other with a jump, hop, a skip, and a smile to boot. I used to be one of them.

Things have had to slow down for me as I’ve begun my healing process. I’ve had to disconnect from certain things – grueling work hours, frequent social engagements, the Internet – all so that I may simply catch my breath.

Letting go doesn’t mean that I don’t love what I’m doing (this site) or the people I’m doing things with (those dearest to me). It means I want to be heavily involved with my own journey and evolution. Life doesn’t ever stop – but we are fully allowed to press pause from time to time and tune in to our own needs. If used wisely, this time will re-inspire and make each new moment fresh, ours to truly enjoy.

Why am I so tired? I know, and I don’t know.

Chronic stress is the killer. It comes in all shapes and sizes, and inevitably leads to burnout. Don’t confuse killer with winner – we can win this.

Listen to the music in your heart and make some changes. Take a yoga class, start a gratitude journal, eat real food. These suggestions are repeated so much because they work and they’ve helped people overcome disease, depression, addiction, and find their zest for life again. Tune into your heart and start to transform those stressors which have become your own habits.

One of my favourite quotes by Lao Tzu:

Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habit. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.

Leave a Reply

