Fab Detox – Day 4

It’s been four days since Meghan Telpner’s Fab Uplift Detox program kicked off, and we’ve reached the halfway mark of our journey. Though I came into this without a clear vision of what I was hoping to get out of it, I’ve already had some breakthroughs…

1. You can be sick and still feel good. I had a bad cold that someone brought home with them. Lots of coughing, phlegm, sneezing, sore throat, fatigue, wooziness, nausea. On the second day of the detox I started off with cayenne lemon water, followed by a green superfood smoothie, and a delicious mixed veggie salad. Though I still had the bug, my body felt very strong and powerful. I was full of energy and my spirits were high.

2. Taste-buds do change. One of the reasons we’re so addicted to all sorts of crazy bad for you foods is because we never give our taste buds a break. We’re always giving it the same intensity of artificial flavours and it develops a palette for that. Once you stop poisoning it, so to speak, you start to notice the more simple tastes found naturally in whole foods.

3. Plants are filling. Having a fast metabolism, I eat a lot and often. I don’t know what it feels like to be full for more than an hour or so. I was a little worried that such a plant based diet was going to leave my belly starving, but I was blown away at how filling those green smoothies can be. Not too long ago I had made one for my man and he couldn’t even eat dinner that night. I need to have about two tall glasses to get this effect, so it’s a good thing my Vitamix makes a lot!

4. I crave crunch. I used to have a dairy obsession. I ate cheese with/on everything. I downed sour cream by the spoonful and ate ice cream every day. Seriously. Doing this detox helped me realize what my current go-to’s are. You know what they say, the first step is awareness…

5. There’s nothing wrong with simple. There seems to be this pervasive need to eat complex dishes. While I am a foodie at heart and do appreciate a fine dish of art, as a way of life it’s perfectly okay to eat simple. A soup or salad can be so enjoyable and satisfying. It doesn’t have to have a string of exotic/expensive/creative ingredients. As long as you sit down, give thanks, and appreciate the beauty of what’s in front of you – it will fulfill you in every way.

Be good to yourself.

3 responses to “Fab Detox – Day 4

Leave a Reply

